The Long Pause

Image
Photo Credit: JobotDaRobot via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: JobotDaRobot via Compfight cc

I’ve started a new blog at www.droppingtheact.com. Check it out for the latest content.

Some of you may have noticed I’ve been absent from the blog for a bit–taking a long pause. Rebooting. Catching my breath. I’ve been reading and thinking, wondering and questioning. Mostly about the journey of life and how we can’t control or predict any of it. And how much, sometimes, I wish that weren’t true.

In the vein of adhering to the new tagline of my site, finding beauty in the brokenness of life, I have to be honest. I don’t have it all figured out (insert gasp of surprise here). Lately I’ve been searching for some beauty in my own situation, and realizing that sometimes honesty is the most beautiful thing I can give to you and to myself. When I entered my book into the Re:write writing contest I prayed that God’s ultimate purpose and plan would be done in the process. And I meant it. So I didn’t feel immediately disappointed when I didn’t win, because I trusted that it was God’s plan and he had other things in mind. But as I was coming down from the high of the writer’s conference, some questions and doubts began to nudge their way into the back of my mind, just like a rude line crasher that pushes her way into the line that you’ve been waiting in for 20 minutes while your kids beg you for every piece of candy in the bins by the checkout. Questions like What if I’m just not good enough? or Maybe I’m not ready, or What the heck do I do now? Seriously, what do I do now?

As I pondered these questions one thing became abundantly clear: this writing path is not going to be an easy one. And if I’m being completely transparent I want the easy path, the road with the least amount of roadblocks and hurdles. The one that gets me to my destination without my ever having to break a sweat. Where every door I come upon is swung wide in promise of grander things. The road where I don’t have to pick myself up from the floor most mornings and talk myself off the ledge of despair. What I’m learning is it’s always easier to trust God when it seems like everything is going my way. But this road, the difficult one, where I’m sweating it out like a P90X devotee, is the one where I’m learning even more about trust and I still believe that God has a plan, even if he hasn’t shared it with me yet.

Maybe you can relate.  Maybe you feel stuck and don’t know how to move forward, and if you’re honest, a little (or a lot) disappointed that you have to take the difficult path. How is God building trust in your relationship with him through this? Leave a comment and let me know what you think.

4 thoughts on “The Long Pause

  1. Hey Erica, congratulations on getting into the top 10! That’s a big deal, and probably helps you feel like you are on the right track! Know that you aren’t alone–there’re so many great writers out there and limited money and resources for publishing them all, and so getting any one book out there becomes quite a feat, which I’m sure you are so aware of that I don’t need to say it! But, keep trying and keep working at it and keep writing!!

  2. Anonymous

    Thanks Erica. You have no idea how perfect your timing of this blog is for me. I am always so inspired by your writing. Know that God is using you and I’m so thankful for your willingness to be used. And your vulnerability to speak what you are dealing with and in return speak to hearts of so many, because I’m sure it isn’t just for me. Sometimes it’s as if you are speaking straight to me as if you were right here with me in my current situation and need. Love you and keep doing what you are you are a blessing.

Leave a comment